Can I set Global Area permissions in 8.1?

Permalink 1 user found helpful
I'd like to disable editing on some of my global areas to specific user groups. I can do this to the blocks in those areas, but the users are still then able to click on the block in edit mode and select options from the menu. Selecting these options results in a 500 error and the page hangs in the loading phase -- presumably because I've disabled edit permissions. Is there anyway to prevent editing entirely? Not seeing the option on Stacks & Blocks > Stacks & Global Areas > [Global Area Name].

View Replies:
MrKDilkington replied on at Permalink Reply
MrKDilkington
Hi digitalrainstorm,

With Advanced Permissions enabled, there should be permissions available for each block in the stack and a Permissions button for the stack itself (in the stack toolbar under the stack name)
Dashboard > Stacks & Blocks > Stacks & Global Areas > click Global Areas > select a specific global area

I believe you can disable editing in the stack permissions.
digitalrainstorm replied on at Permalink Reply 2 Attachments
Yeah, that's the problem -- I'm not seeing an option for permissions. I've got Advanced Permissions turned on. See attached screenshot of my options for the Global Area.

Again, I'm able to edit the block permissions from this screen. They are all set to only allow administrators to make edits (see screenshot). But when I am logged in as another member group, I am still able to click on the block from the frontend edit page and select any of these options. However, it will cause a 500 error and a constant loading rather than actually bring up the edit form.

Is there somewhere else I can set permissions on the whole area so that they can't even click it, period?
MrKDilkington replied on at Permalink Reply
MrKDilkington
@digitalrainstorm

I am not sure why the Permissions button for the stack is not displaying.

Are you logged in as admin?

Just to cover the bases, have you cleared your site cache?
digitalrainstorm replied on at Permalink Reply
Cache is cleared, and I am logged in as admin. I'm having no trouble setting permissions for everything else.