500 Internal Server Error during install - needs a fix

Hi All,

I am brand new to concrete5, and looking forward to getting started. I get a 500 Internal Server Error during install. I have already researched this, and I currently believe that the cause of the problem is that the max_execution_time value in PHP defaults to 60 on my shared host.

I think I can fix this eventually. However, I would like to point out that this is really something that should be addressed by concrete5. It seems like the install should be broken into smaller steps to prevent this error from occurring during a normal install. In my case, I'm using windows hosting, and the php ini/configuration is not available to me for editing - I have to go through the mediocre support process at my hosting provider - which makes everything take hours or days when it should take seconds.

The error occurs for me during the 'Adding Block Types' section.

I'm hoping this is an easy change that someone could make.

Thanks for listening :)

Steevb replied on at Permalink Reply
Steevb
Should not be a C5 issue. Try getting a better hosting package. Never had this issue myself.
MisterAcoustic replied on at Permalink Reply
Hi Steevb,

Thanks for your response. Are you in marketing? :)

It is absolutely a concrete5 issue - I try to be gentle with open source projects because those developers have provided their time and effort to my great benefit, and I really appreciate it.

As far as my host is concerned, it's the host that currently appears first in the budget recommendations on the concrete5 hosting page.

It clear that the install process is not very robust - which it not to say that it doesn't work, probably even most of the time - but there are things (such as tight timeout values) that it doesn't handle well at all. This should be fixed.