"Compare versions" pop up

Permalink 2 users found helpful
I've just started to get a "Compare versions" pop up every time I make a change to a page on my site.

It's a bit annoying, but not stopping me from doing anything.

What does it mean, and how can I turn it off?

Thanks :)

1 Attachment

Conkreet
View Replies: View Best Answer
mesuva replied on at Permalink Best Answer Reply
mesuva
This can happens sometimes where you save a page and hit an error - it sort of gets stuck in this state.

You can use this automated job to clear this:
https://gist.github.com/hissy/5ea2147516a90710919d...

Instructions on what to do with the script are in the first comment.

(this has helped me several times while developing!)
Conkreet replied on at Permalink Reply
Conkreet
Ooh nice! Thank you. Does it need to be run regularly then?
mesuva replied on at Permalink Reply
mesuva
Nope - you'd only need to run it again if you came across the same recurring compare versions alert (which I'd say is pretty unlikely).
Conkreet replied on at Permalink Reply
Conkreet
Thank you very much... Worked like a charm :)
OKDnet replied on at Permalink Reply
OKDnet
For the same issue in a 5.7.5.8 install this was just pointed out to me and worked like a charm. Thanks mesuva (& hissy).
ld13 replied on at Permalink Reply
ld13
Thank you very much! It worked.
davepilbeam replied on at Permalink Reply
davepilbeam
This just happened to us and we fixed it like this:

In the versions menu you just create a New page from the approved page (with new slug) and save it to a different location in the Sitemap.

This page does not have the error, so you can simply delete the old page then rename your slug back
bjalexander replied on at Permalink Reply
bjalexander
Huge thank you!
nkennel replied on at Permalink Reply
nkennel
Thank you! Your automated job worked well for me. I was getting very annoyed by one page that had become a broken record - compare versions, compare versions, compare versions! :-D