One of the most obvious things that sets concrete5 apart is in-context editing. Our goal here was to match the word processing experience with a website. If you're reading a document and you see a typo, you can fix it right then by just typing. You don't have to bring up a different program and learn a different set of tools to make basic changes. This ease of use is what keeps people feeling motivated and creative when writing in a word processor, and the complexity of making even basic changes is what typically intimidates website owners with older content management systems.
When you have securely logged in to a concrete5 site, the site is aware of who you are and what you have access to edit and create. If you have the access to do something on a specific page, you will get the in-context editing toolbar across the top of the page.
Home page before logging in:
Home page after logging in as Admin:
The In-context Editing bar lets you make changes to the page you're currently on by clicking Edit Page. It also lets you add a new page directly under the page you're on (Add Page) as well as getting Help or visiting your site Dashboard.
What is Edit Mode?
When using the In-context editing capabilities of concrete5, you can put any page you have editing permissions to in edit mode. When in edit mode you can roll over any existing blocks you have rights to and they will highlight grey. You can also add new blocks to areas you have add rights to by clicking "Add to AreaName."
Every block has its own editing interface, typically in a floating overlay. You can also delete blocks, move them around the page and much more. Any changes you make here will all be consolidated down to one version when you choose to Exit Edit Mode.
Exit Edit Mode
When you click Exit Edit Mode from the In-context editing toolbar, you will have to choose one of three options:
- Discard - Throw away all the changes you just made, for ever.
- Preview - Save these edits as a new version, but only show that new version to other editors/administrators who have access to edit this page. When they visit this page they will see this most recent version, but regular site visitors will only see the last published version.
- Publish - Save these edits, and make them live for all guests to see, now.
The options in the in-context editing bar change when you are in edit mode.
- Exit Edit Mode - the Edit Page button switches out to become to leave edit mode button. Kinda obvious on that one.
- Properties - page properties let you change the name, meta data, and some other general information about the page.
- Design - choose a new page type and theme for this page, or preview what this page would look like with a new template applied.
- Permissions - change who can see or edit this page.
- Versions - a complete history of every set of changes made to the page. You can preview what older versions of the page looked like, see who was responsible for the changes, roll the page back to an earlier version, and even compare the differences between two versions.
- Move/Delete - includes Copy as well. Take this page and put it somewhere else, or get rid of it forever. (Delete can not be undone.)