I turned on Advanced Permissions and I regret it. Can I turn them off and how?

Permalink
I did not quite grasp what I was enabling when I turned on advanced permissions. I clicked through the you cannot go back warning. I liked the basic permissions and would like to bring them back.

Can it be done and if so how?

I do have a site backup, but it is 3 days old and a lot of work has gone into the site. I also upgraded the site to 5.6.0.2 so the backup I have is from just before the upgrade (5.6.0.1).

Any and all suggestions are welcome.

Thank you

jerlo727
View Replies:
Steevb replied on at Permalink Reply
Steevb
You can't go back.

You'll have to learn how to work with AP, it is fairly easy to work with and powerful.

Embrace it, you'll be glad you did.
jerlo727 replied on at Permalink Reply
jerlo727
What I didn't state earlier is the AP did not seem to be working. It is completely different in this version from the available documentation.

At first my changes did not seem to stick. Plus when you go to a different page, the permissions looked like whatever I had done on the previous page.

But after much trial and error, I am beginning to understand it, but it is not as intuitive as the previous AP. It does seem to work, but I am struggling with it.

Thanks for taking the time to respond.
Ricalsin replied on at Permalink Reply
Ricalsin
Key concepts:
1. It inherits from the home page - start there.
2. If you change perms on page D and add page E, E will inherit from D
3. Clear your cache: Both in the browser you're working with and the C5 system cache (check the dashboard).
4. While developing, turn the cache off (check in the dashboard) until you deploy it live.

Rick
jerlo727 replied on at Permalink Reply
jerlo727
OOOOOO!, now that is helpful. Will try that tomorrow. Thanks.