mysql error: [2006: MySQL server has gone away]

Permalink 1 user found helpful
Hi Guys

We are experiencing mysql error: [2006: MySQL server has gone away] very rarely on one of our sites but see this as a major issue regardless.

After looking at posts in the forum they all point to speaking to the host to get more help.

I have spoken to the web host and they will not change any " wait_timeout" or "max_allowed_packet" due to the shared environment.

Hosts answer was to optimize the scripts, unfortunately I am no coder and it happens so randomly, within the site and randomly in the dashboard that I could not pin point this, I know it has happened whilst using easynews and also going to the page with this block on it, but has also happens on the homepage where I have power slider and content blocks so its very random.

Any ideas/help would be appreciated as this is the first time it has happened. I am not sure what to do from here.

I look forward to a response.

bmsdigital

reachdigital

Mnkras replied on at Permalink Reply
Mnkras
That is a host issue, that really doesn't have much to do with c5 at all, I would recommend a new host.
reachdigital replied on at Permalink Reply
reachdigital
Thank you Mnkras,

I have another site on that host and works no problem and so we specifically directed the customer to this service being in Australia, due to C5 working perfectly.

Could it be the c5 version we are on # concrete5 Version 5.4.2.1 and having issues with our auto update which c5 saying its up to date already and cnat go to 5.4.2.2

Are there any optimized c5 setting I should follow, which will ensure Im using the best settings an so on? Both in dashboard and any core files?

For example I have the Development PHP errors and database exceptions will be displayed ON. Should I change to production?

I look forward to your response.
Mainio replied on at Permalink Reply
Mainio