IMMEDIATE HELP needed (like, right NOW) restoring hacked site 3/8/12 6:45pm

Hi, my client's site was hacked, inserted sql code into all php files. My background is graphic design, html & css, this is out of my range of expertise.

My client's site is down and needs to be back up right away. (Yesterday a targeted email went out to 15000 people referring to an upcoming event, this down time is probably costing her thousands.)

This happened a couple of weeks back but the guy who helped me restore it is out of town until next week.

What I've done so far... deleted the entire site, re-installed the original version of C5 that I installed last year 5.4.1.1. I restored the database to a version that was backed up about 5.5 days ago, (Saturday, when I last logged into the site & it was still good.) I went to the page to enter the database name & it says that c5 requires an empty database to install in. So, I've exported the database. Thought I'd delete it and then create a new one with the same exact name, install c5, then import into the database. However, whenever I create a new database I have to use a different name, it won't let me create one with the same name.

I don't know what else to do.

Can someone help.

I can pay.

TammyM

tallacman replied on at Permalink Reply
tallacman
whats the url? who's the hosting company?
DrStalker replied on at Permalink Reply
It sounds like you need to recreate the /config/site.php file... this is just a list of definitions so you should be able to quickly tell if you can reuse the one from the hacked site:

<?php
define('DB_SERVER', 'localhost');
define('DB_USERNAME', 'c5_dbuser');
define('DB_PASSWORD', 'reallystrongpassword');
define('DB_DATABASE', 'doug_c5_mysite');
define('PASSWORD_SALT', 'long string of characters');

Going from memory if that file is in place and defines the DB connection then C5 will assume it is already installed.