Option to disable a domain

Permalink Browser Info Environment
I'd like to be able to disable a domain without deleting it.

Type: Discussion
Status: In Progress
View Replies:
Mainio replied on at Permalink Reply
Mainio
Hi,

Could you tell a bit more about the use case behind this feature request? That would help us to evaluate better whether this would be a good addition or not.

As this is the first time ever (for the 5.6 and 5.7 versions together) anyone has requested this feature, it would be really helpful for us to know a little more about the background on why this could be useful.
tolja replied on at Permalink Reply
Some of my domains are active only a specific amount of time and I want to be able to keep hold of the data the mapped domain has for later use.
Mainio replied on at Permalink Reply
Mainio
OK, thank you!

What kind of sites are you running if they are active only a certain period of time?

For the data mapped to the domain, what do you mean in particular? I think all the site data should be preserved if you remove the domain. Only the mapping disappears, which shouldn't contain very relevant data (only stuff like site name and the domain).
tolja replied on at Permalink Reply
The sites I want to disable are related to marketing campaigns and I'm using mapped domain data to tie my own data to a particular domain.
Mainio replied on at Permalink Reply
Mainio
Ok.

For the "using mapped domain data to tie my own data" part, this one I don't perfectly still understand. Could you particularly explain how this all works out, so it would better help us to see the whole problem scope and evaluate whether this particular request would be beneficial to add to the add-on.

I'm not trying to be difficult here or anything, we just want to make sure that if we do some extra features or changes to current functionality, they are serving actual use-cases. E.g. if we add the "enabled" feature, it is maybe serving you with this particular purpose, but for 99% of the other users, it just adds extra confusion/noise through an extra option in the settings.

For any kind of feature request, we would like to know the exact requirements behind these requests and where they are based on. This helps us to better understand the problems behind these requests.

Currently, as I'm not maybe understanding the problem perfectly, I don't see it as an issue to just delete the domains when they are no longer required. I also understood from above that as these campaigns end, these domains are no longer needed. So, I'm not seeing any benefit in keeping the domain related settings alive in the database either.
tolja replied on at Permalink Reply
I maybe unable to describe my use case properly, but I'm using MultipleDomainsMappings table as a part of my schema. Deleting rows from it would mess with my database's referential integrity as I want to keep hold of the data related to a particular domain, whether it is in use or not.
Mainio replied on at Permalink Reply
Mainio
OK, makes sense.

I guess for most of the people this wouldn't make sense since if they want to disable the domain, they just delete it. We'll check if there is something we can do regarding this. Maybe we'll add it as a "hidden" feature that you can enable through configuration.
Mainio replied on at Permalink Reply
Mainio
I think we'll check further into this with the release for 5.8 since there is also some other refactoring that we need to do for 5.8.

We'll keep this thread updated on what's going on.

concrete5 Environment Information

# concrete5 Version
Core Version - 5.7.5.6
Version Installed - 5.7.5.6
Database Version - 20151221000000

# concrete5 Packages
Multiple Domains (2.2.1).

Browser User-Agent String

Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Ubuntu Chromium/49.0.2623.108 Chrome/49.0.2623.108 Safari/537.36

Hide Post Content

This will replace the post content with the message: "Content has been removed by an Administrator"

Hide Content

Request Refund

You have not specified a license for this support ticket. You must have a valid license assigned to a support ticket to request a refund.